Located near the Porte d'Avignon, a vestige of the old city walls, the chapel of the former Hôtel-Dieu has housed the collections of the archaeological museum since 1912, which has the "Musée de France" designation.
At the beginning of the 20th century, the Jouve family acquired the former Hôtel-Dieu hospital, which had been abandoned in favour of a new hospital, with the idea of turning it into a museum.
In 1912, Marie-Thérèse Jouve, the youngest member of the family, imagined the creation of a museum dedicated to local archaeology. The museum was officially created in 1946 by André Dumoulin, the first curator of Cavaillon's museums.
Owned by the Calvet Foundation since 1937 and classified as a Historic Monument, the building houses the Hôtel-Dieu Archaeological Museum (Musée de France), which presents collections from the Cavaillon area from prehistory to the modern period.
Musée Archéologique de l'Hôtel Dieu
Place Jean Bastide
Save this Call us Write us Visit our website
Discover our editions of the Luberon Heart of Provence to prepare your weekend and holidays: guide, accommodation, hiking...Order