Situated right in between Monts de Vaucluse and Luberon, land of dry stones, the picturesque village of Cabrières d'Avignon has kept its authentic character.
Cabrières d'Avignon, a pretty village located at the foot of the Monts de Vaucluse, offers two faces to discover. On one hand agricultural Provence, in the plain of Calavon (cherry trees, almond trees, olive trees, vines, etc.) and one the other wild Provence, rough and dry, scrublands perfume in the air, with bories (little hut made with dry stone), aiguiers (tank built on the rock) and apiers (beehives made between dry stones).
One of the leaders of the Waldenses resistance, Eustache Marron, settled there and chose the village as his home. In 1545, as in many villages in the Luberon, the inhabitants of Cabrières suffered from the Waldenses massacre. Despite their entrenchment in the castle, 400 to 500 people were killed and the village was razed. By way of example, Eustache Marron will be executed in Avignon.
In 1720, the plague returned to Provence from Marseille. A “sanitary” wall made of dry stones was built from Monieux to Lagnes and passing through Cabrières, to prevent the spread of the epidemic. This wall is still standing and a walking trail has been created throughout its course. A large part of Provence inhabitants died because of the 1720 plague, known as Marseille Plague.
To protect the Comtat Venaissin, a 'Wall of the Plague' was built in the Monts de Vaucluse. Built of dry stone, it was 27 kilometres long and about 2 metres high. Nowadays, 6 km remain between Cabrières d'Avignon and Lagnes.
A singular cedar forest was sown at the end of the 19th century, with cedar seeds of the High Atlas (Morocco).
Five hectares of majestic cedar trees extend north of the village and offer a space for relaxation and freshness. Starting point for several hiking trails, health trails and equiped picnic area, this forest is a highly recommended stop after visiting the village.
The Provençal word Cabrières could mean for "Land of goats". The village took its definitive name only in 1918. The castle probably dates from the 11th century and was built by the Adhémar family. In the 16th century, Cabrières became the Duke of Caderousse's fiefdom. After the 15th century plagues, he got Waldenses families from Piedmont to move in the area.
Discover our editions of the Luberon Heart of Provence to prepare your weekend and holidays: guide, accommodation, hiking...Order