Between Durance and Luberon, discover Lauris, a beautiful Provencal village recognizable among all on its rocky spur.
Located in the heart of Provence, this village is worth a visit. It will reveal its treasures and various facets with its authentic flowery alleys in the old part and on the castle terraces the Conservatory of dying plants.
Joseph Garnier's statue was erected in his honor in 1891 as a thank you for his donation to the village of part of his fortune. It was used to carry out many projects.
The old oil mill marks the entrance of the old village. When the latter was extended in the 18th century, the communal oil mill was moved and built against the 17th century rampart.
The fountain of the duck, actually is a swan, is an emblem of Lauris. It was built in 1853 and reshuffled at the beginning of the 20th century.
The public washhouse, listed as historical monument, dates from the 19th century. It was built on the former graveyard found on the 1731 cadastral plan.
The church of Notre Dame de la Purification
A first church was built on this site in 1480. It was a small single-nave church. It soon became too small and running down therefore a new church was built between 1702 and 1708, following Vallon's plans, an architect of Aix en Provence. The wrought iron cage ('gabie' in Provençal) dates back to 1857 and was designed by Sollier.
The Colonel's House
One can discover on this building two beautiful frontage recently renovated. The left one dates from 1782. It is the most sober facade with lintels, a cornice and a main porch with falling garlands. The right one dates from 1898 and is decorated with a harp and Irish clover. The owner of the premises was then colonel of the 175th Irish Infantry Regiment.
The Philippe's Tower
This building built in the 13th century has two gemeled windows. A peacock tail decor and other gemelated windows are partly hidden by an elevation. This building has always been called 'Tour Philippe' in memory of Philippe de Lambesc, valiant lord of the 14th century. It was in the 19th century that it was nicknamed 'Queen Jeanne's House' .
La Maison Claustrale
This beautiful building succeeded in the early 18th century to an intial building of the late 15th century. This site is a good example of the consequences of the tax on doors and windows set up in 1798 by Directoire (governing five-member committee in the French First Republic). In fact, it can be seen that many openings were blocked by the owners in order to pay less tax.
The castle square
A monumental 18th century portal and its guard stones, gives access to the courtyard where part of the common (stables) survives. This entrance gives us an idea of what Jean-Louis d'Arlatan's castle looked like, then destroyed during the French Revolution.
The Portal square
This square was created in the 18th century when Jean-Louis d'Arlatan, last lord of Lauris, built a monumental gate in place of the old oil mill. Until then, and since 1540, the entrance door to the village known as de la Frache was located at the height of the house known as de Garde.
The conservatory of dyeing plants
This unique site in Europe presents more than 250 species of plants from which dyes are extracted for the manufacture of inks, paints and dyes.
The Castle terraces
The retaining arcades were installed in the 17th century by Julien de Pérussis, lord of Lauris. The terraces are decorated with 18th-century fountains and basins, and have been classified as a remarkable garden since 2011. They are composed of the Conservatory of Dyeing Plants and the white garden. The latter is called so because only white flowering plants have been planted there. There is a magnificent view of the Durance valley, the Sainte-Victoire mountain and the Alpilles.
In the 12th century, a small dungeon was built on the cliff above the plain. Then a castle gradually buitl around it. This strategic location was used to keep an eye the Durance river and the opposite territories.
A small local market held in the town hall square where you can discover our regional products.
Discover our editions of the Luberon Heart of Provence to prepare your weekend and holidays: guide, accommodation, hiking...Order